The Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority is awarding 26 Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies students with scholarships.

SIGA is contributing $85,000 towards the 2018 First Nation Scholarship Awards Program. The recipients are:

  • Abel Ross
  • Alma Tawiyaka
  • Awasis Thomas
  • Bruce Ross
  • Calvin Kaye
  • Chantel Keshane
  • Cynthia Little
  • Emily Lachance
  • Evan Chamakese
  • Howard Desnomie
  • Jodi Kahpeepatow
  • Jordan Worm
  • Karen Scanie
  • Kristen Windigo
  • Marilyn Lachance
  • Marissa Lafleche-Anderson
  • Melanie Sparvier
  • Nathan Chamakese
  • Patricia Lawson
  • Rebecca Morin
  • Regan Lambert
  • Robyn Whitefish
  • Samantha Robin
  • Shaid Heimbecker
  • Shawna Natewayes
  • Sheryl Sylvestre

As well, a new award was introduced this year called the Justice Paul Favel Indigenous Award for Outstanding Leadership in Community Involvement.

It is presented to an Indigenous student in a full-time academic program at a Saskatchewan post-secondary institute, who has shown tremendous commitment to Indigenous culture, their community and their own education.

Samantha Waditaka is the recipient of the Paul Favel Indigenous Award for $5,000.

(PHOTO: Scholarship recipients. Photo courtesy of SIGA.)