Northerners Shut Out At Aboriginal Youth Awards

Monday, May 02, 2005 at 14:23



Saskatchewan’s young Aboriginal role models were recognized at an awards banquet over the weekend, and for the first time in a while, there wasn’t any northern representation at the podium.


Awards were presented in 11 different categories at the 7th Annual SaskTel Aboriginal Youth Awards of Excellence on Friday night.


The Outstanding Achievement Award went to 15-year-old Raelyn Favel of the Poundmaker First Nation, who was honoured for her excellence in academics, athletics and community work.


Other youth honoured Friday night include Shawn Highway of Prince Albert, who received the Spirit Award for overcoming adversity and troubles with the law to become an Aboriginal role model.


Chelsie Scragg, a Metis from Saskatoon, received the Community Service Award.


The Technology and Science Award went to Ashley Daniels of the Okanese First Nation.


The Youth Award of Excellence was presented to Lashawn Wahpooseyan of the Kawacatoose First Nation.


The Recreation Award went to Eric Morrison from the Seine River First Nation.


Kent Witchekan of the One Arrow First Nation received the Sports Award.


The Thunderchild First Nation’s Navarone Thunderchild won the Culture Award.


The Education Award went to Jennifer Pelletier of the Cowesses First Nation.


Ariane Starblanket of the Starblanket First Nation was honoured with the Leadership Award.


All award recipients were between 15 and 19 years of age.