Northern Civic Elections Bring Winds Of Change

Thursday, October 26, 2006 at 14:45



A number of northern communities have new mayors following yesterday’s civic election — including Ile-a-la-Crosse.


Based on unofficial results, Duane Favel defeated long-time incumbent Max Morin by three votes.


Morin, who has been the mayor in Ile-a-la-Crosse for 11 years, says he won’t be asking for a judicial recount.


Morin says he’s glad the voter turnout was high, and he’s ready to do something new.


Morin also admits the loan controversy that has been dogging him the last month probably cost him some votes, and he hopes his community can heal from the rifts that have been created.


Other incumbents that fell yesterday were Rae Leibel in Green Lake, Curtis Fiss in Stony Rapids and Horace Morin in Pelican Narrows.


Former Green Lake mayor Fred McCallum defeated Leibel, Fiss lost to Daniel Powder, while Morin fell to Ovide M. Michel.


Elsewhere, incumbents Joe Hordyski and Gordon Stomp were re-elected in La Ronge and Air Ronge, respectively.


Buffalo Narrows mayor Bobby Woods was re-elected in a spirited battle with challenger Philip Chartier. Woods says he’s grateful for the endorsement of his leadership, but admits his election win wasn’t easy.


Elsewhere, Ernest Sylvestre was re-elected to a fourth term as mayor in Michel Village, although he is indicating this will probably be his last. Another incumbent, Donna Janvier in St. George’s Hill, managed to win another term — although Janvier’s margin of victory over Delphine Bekkatla was one vote.


Former Sandy Bay mayor Ina Fietz-Ray is back in her old position after defeating seven other candidates yesterday. The incumbent didn’t run because of health reasons.


Meanwhile, there are a few new faces on the La Ronge town council. Newcomer Thomas Sierzycki earned the distinction of capturing the most votes. Others voted onto La Ronge town council yesterday include incumbents Tracy Fiske and Doreen Polischuk and newcomers, Will Stewart, Mike Wolkosky and Roger Schooley.


In the Air Ronge council election, Shane Delaney came away with the most votes yesterday. He joins Jeff Simpson, Terry DesRoches and Tom Carlson, who were in already by acclamation.


In the Northern Lights school board elections, Doyle Vermette was re-elected in La Ronge, as was Bruce Ruelling in La Loche, Peter J. Bear in Sandy Bay, Claire Larocque in the Far North and Frank Durocher in Buffalo Narrows. Newcomers to the school board are: Allan Bishoff in Cumberland House, Wade Sanderson in Pinehouse, Lorna Black in Green Lake and Darcy Roy in Beauval.