LLRIB Chief Survives Challenge To Leadership

Monday, March 31, 2008 at 14:35



Saskatchewan’s largest First Nation is hosting a swearing-in ceremony today for the winners of its recent chief and council election.


The Lac La Ronge Indian Band’s first-ever female chief, Tammy Cook-Searson, was re-elected to a second term on Friday after holding off five other challengers for her office.


Cook-Searson finished with 828 votes. Henry McKenzie was her closest competition, with 582 votes.


Despite capturing only 31 per cent of the vote, and finishing second to McKenzie in La Ronge, Cook-Searson says she is grateful for the support.


She is also happy the election drew a record turnout of band members.


Her council will have a different look.


Only six of the 12 winners in the council elections were band councillors last term.


The councillors for La Ronge will be Erwin Hennie, Sam Roberts, Larry Roberts and Pam Mirasty.


In Stanley Mission, the council representatives there are Brian Hardlotte, Morris McKenzie and John Patrick Roberts.


Leon Charles is back for another term in Grandmother’s Bay.


The councillors in Little Red are Keith Merasty and John Halkett.


In Sucker River, the most votes went to Kenny Ratt.


And voters in Hall Lake have opted to go with Abraham Ratt.


All of the winning candidates will serve a three-year term in office.