Aboriginal Awards Will Have Strong Sask. Flavour

Tuesday, November 25, 2008 at 15:37



Four prominent First Nations citizens from Saskatchewan will be recognized at the 2009 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards.


The awards are intended to recognize the outstanding achievments of First Nations, Metis and Inuit peoples.


Reverend Stan Cuthand of the Little Pine First Nation is this year’s lifetime award winner.


His command of the Cree language helped engage band members in the drafting of important documents like the first constitution of the FSIN.


Cuthand was also the first person to teach Cree at the university level, and has translated the speeches of Big Bear and Poundmaker.


Storyteller Melanie Jackson of the Sakimay First Nation is sharing the arts award with the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation’s Dennis Jackson.


The couple teamed up to give Canadian children the award-winning show “Wapos Bay”.


Meantime, Delia Opikokew of the Canoe Lake First Nation will take home the law and justice award.


The well-known Toronto lawyer has fought for human rights across the country — as well as represented the family of late activist Dudley George.


A total of 14 Aboriginal people will be honoured at a ceremony on March 6th in Winnipeg.