Photo credit: Piwapan Women’s Centre website.

Two scholarships are available for northern post-secondary students. 

The annual scholarships are offered through the La Ronge Native Women’s Council with the aim of continuing the legacy of Mary Heimbecker and Margaret Beament. 

Heimbecker and Beament are the founders of the La Ronge Native Women’s Council and made a big impact on La Ronge by pursuing funding for many organizations that still stand in the community. 

“It’s a way for the La Ronge Native Women’s Council’s board of directors to honor the work they did, so we want to give back to the community in their honor,” said Piwapan Women’s Centre executive director Karen Sanderson. 

The annual scholarships have been awarded to women in the community for four years in a row now. 

The Mary Heimbecker scholarship is for women entering their first year of post-secondary studies, and the Margaret Beament scholarship is for women in their final year of post-secondary studies. 

Women interested in applying must meet the following requirements:. 

  1. Must be enrolled full-time in a recognized post-secondary program in studies leading to a profession or career within the human services field. 
  1. Must reside in or originate from a northern community serviced by the La Ronge Native Women’s Council. 
  1. Must express a commitment to providing service in northern Saskatchewan. 

Applications for the scholarships are open until August 31.