Three people are challenging for Chief of the Lac La Ronge Indian Band.

Bruce Fredrick McKenzie, John P. Roberts, and Tammy Cook-Searson. Nominations were held Thursday.

The results of the nomination meeting also saw 29 candidates step forward for 11 Councillor positions. Candidates for the Little Red Reserve were David Charles, Tom Elvin Cook, Jerry Halkett, John R. Halkett, Keith R. Mirasty, and Robert Angus Thomas Mirasty.

Grandmother’s Bay Reserve had two candidates, Clifford McKenzie and Gerald R. McKenzie.

Stanley Mission Reserve had seven candidates come forward: Jimmy B. Charles, Larry Charlie Charles, Linda A. Charles, Robin Walter McKenzie, Angus GJ McLeod, Andrew Roberts, and Moses Isiah Roberts.

The Lac La Ronge Reserve and Kitsaki Reserve had 14 candidates: Roger F.O. Beatty, Michael James Bird, Nina A.J. Bird, Leon J. Charles, Anita Cook, Samuel Ahab Hardlotte, Robert McKenzie, Percy Mirasty (Merasty), Ann Ratt, Dean Roberts, Sam H. Roberts (CHOX), Terry Thomas Ross, Dennis B. Sanderson, and Cheryline (Charlene) M. Venne.

Acclamations are in Sucker River (Devin Bernatchez) and Hall Lake (Norman Ross).

Advanced polls will begin on Wednesday, March 22 from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m. The advanced polls will be held at White Hall for Little Red Reserve, the Band Hall for Grandmother’s Bay Reserve, the Charlie Halkett Memorial Band Hall for Morin Lake Reserve, the Sucker River Band Hall for Sucker River Reserve, the Rhoda Hardlotte Band Hall for Stanley Mission Reserve, and the Jonas Roberts Memorial Community Centre for the Lac La Ronge Reserve and Kitsaki Reserve.

In addition to the six electoral sections, voting will take place on General Election Day at the community halls for Sikachu, Brabant Lake, and Pinehouse; in Prince Albert, voting will take place at the PA Inn in the Waskesiu Room; and in Saskatoon, voting will take place in the Ramada Inn’s Harvest Room. General Election voting will begin on Thursday, March 30 between 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.