At an event in Fort Qu’Appelle on Wednesday Canada Post unveiled its commemorative stamp recognizing the 39-year leadership of Chief Marie-Anne Day Walker-Pelletier.

Day Walker-Pelletier served the most consecutive terms ever by an elected First Nations chief in Canada as chief of Okanese First Nation.

She was also part of the Indigenous delegation that met with Pope Francis at the Vatican earlier this year to discuss the Catholic Church’s role in the residential school system.

This is one of three Indigenous Leaders stamps that will officially be released on June 21 – National Indigenous Peoples Day – in recognition of the contributions each Indigenous leader has made to their communities.

Harry Daniels and Jose Kusugak will also have their commemorative stamps released on that day.

(PHOTO: the commemorative stamp of Chief Marie Anne Day Walker-Pelletier to be available on June 21. Provided by Canada Post.)