A major highway in Saskatchewan will soon have signs marking Treaty territory.

The government announced Wednesday they have partnered with the Office of the Treaty Commissioner for the development of signs marking Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territory.

The signs will be placed along Highway 11 between Saskatoon and Regina.

The design of the signs will be done in partnership between the OTC and provincial officials.

A sign seems like such a small thing, but it represents something significant,” said Treaty Commissioner Mary Culbertson. “Think about the number of Treaties that cross through where the province of Saskatchewan now lies. Our highways cross these territories and that has to be recognized and acknowledged.”

According to the government, this will make Saskatchewan the first province to mark Treaty territory along a major highway.

We’re proud to be pioneers on this front, working in partnership with the Office of the Treaty Commissioner to highlight the important historical treaties of our province,” Minister Responsible for First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs Don McMorris said.

An unveiling ceremony for the Treaty signs is planned for later this year.

(PHOTO: Treaty Commissioner Mary Culbertson. File Photo)