Perry Bellegarde has been re-elected to a second term as national chief of the Assembly of First Nations.

The former head of Saskatchewan’s Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations took 328 of 522 votes on the second ballot Wednesday afternoon giving him just over the 60 per cent needed for victory.

Voting took place at the AFN General Assembly in Vancouver.

On the first ballot, Bellegarde took 286 votes, Sheila North received 106 votes, Miles Richardson garnered 87 votes, Russ Diabo got 40 votes and Katherine Whitecloud took 19 votes.

Whitecloud was dropped from the ballot for the second round of voting, as she garnered the fewest votes.

A total of 538 ballots were cast on the first ballot.

(PHOTO: Assembly of First Nations National Chief Perry Bellegarde. Photo courtesy of