Education professor Marie Battiste. Photo courtesy

The University of Saskatchewan is honouring four Indigenous graduates for their contributions to Canada.

The university nominated 10 former grads to be recognized by the Canada 150 Citizens Selection Committee. Those selected are recognized as citizens who have contributed to Canada becoming a more diverse and inclusive country.

Education professor Marie Battiste, community leader CeCe Battiste, Office of the Treaty Commissioner Director Harry Lafond and former USSU President Max Fineday are all among those selected.

Also included is policy professor Ken Coates, who has developed public policy that supports Indigenous rights.

Members of the university and wider community were invited to submit nominations, with a selection committee making the final selections.

A full list and full biographies can be found at