Chief candidates Jim Gordon Lemaigre, Sharon Kennedy, Teddy Clark, and Josephine Pische.

It’s now or never for voters on Clearwater River Dene Nation as polls open for chief and council elections.

The La Loche-area reserve did not hold advance polls or have mail-in ballots, meaning voters need to head to the band hall between 9 a.m. and 8 p.m. on Wednesday in order to have their vote count.

Teddy Clark wants to stay on as chief, and has three opponents: teacher Sharon Kennedy, RCMP officer Jim Gordon Lemaigre, and business owner Josephine Pische.

There are 29 council candidates, and Bob Piche is the only past councillor not seeking re-election. Lester Herman, Brian and Laurie Lemaigre, and Peggy Piche are seeking re-election.

As of May, 2017 there are 2,114 registered Clearwater River members. Of those, 911 are on the reserve, 38 on another reserve, and 1,159 off reserve.