Tasha Spillett. Photo courtesy of Government of Saskatchewan.

The Government of Saskatchewan and the University of Saskatchewan have announced the 2017-18 recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Scholarship and the Queen Elizabeth II Centennial Aboriginal Scholarship.

The Aboriginal Scholarship is awarded to Tasha Spillett, to assist her in obtaining a Doctorate of Philosophy at the U of S College of Education.

The $20,000 scholarship is awarded to a First Nations or Metis student pursuing graduate and post-graduate studies in any field at a university in Saskatchewan.

The Queen Elizabeth II Scholarship is awarded to Stephanie Ortynsky, who is studying for her Doctorate of Philosophy at the University of Saskatchewan School of Public Health, Vaccinology and Immunotherapeutics.

Advanced Education Minister Bronwyn Eyre says scholarships help graduate students produce research that will have a positive impact on their area of study, their institution and the province.