Circle Of Honour Award Winners Announced

Friday, September 03, 2010 at 13:50



The accomplishments of First Nations citizens in our province are being recognized.


The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations has announced the winners of this year’s Circle of Honour awards.


The awards are given to people and groups who have made valuable contributions to their communities, as well as outstanding achievements.


Some of the winners include Arthur Anderson of the Gordon First Nation who is being recognized as male citizen of the year.


Patsy Roberts-Head of the Lac La Ronge Indian Band is the female citizen of the year.


Whitecap Dakota First Nation member Melvin Littlecrow will receive a lifetime achievement award, while George Benson of Red Pheasant is receiving an honourable service award for his outstanding record of military service.


Deborah Chatsis, originally from Ahtahkakoop, has been selected for the women leadership award for her work overseas representing the country.


A couple of communities are getting special recognition.


The Cumberland House First Nation, is receiving the environmental respect award, while the Lac La Ronge Indian Band is getting one for its housing demonstration project.


There are 26 awards in all.


They will be handed out on September 13th.