Sites Chosen For Liberal Nomination In The North

Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 15:15



Ten northern Saskatchewan communities have been chosen to host next month’s Liberal nomination meetings in the federal riding of Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River.


On August 14th, party members will be able to cast their ballot in Canoe Narrows, Cumberland House, Deschbambault Lake, La Ronge, Leoville, Meadow Lake, Pelican Narrows, Pinehouse, Prince Albert and Red Earth.


Joan Beatty and David Orchard are vying for the Liberal nomination in the constituency for the next federal election.


The party’s executive director in Saskatchewan, Robert Ermel, says the Liberals decided to place polling stations in communities with 60 or more party members.


Ermel says Prince Albert was included because it’s a central hub for so many northerners.


He says the wishes of all stakeholders were taken into consideration in the decision-making process.


Ermel stresses party officials tried to be as sensitive to the geographical challenges of the region as possible.


Voting on the 14th begins at 2:30 p.m. and runs until 9:00 that evening.


Meantime, Orchard is calling for another community in northwest Saskatchewan to be added to the list.


Orchard says party members in Ile-a-la-Crosse, Buffalo Narrows and La Loche stand to lose out through the present arrangement — because they will have to travel as far away as Pinehouse or Canoe Lake if they want to take part.


Orchard says many northern leaders want to see Ile-a-la-Crosse added to the list — a call he says he fully supports.