Several Northern Mayors Re-elected to New Terms

Thursday, October 23, 2003 at 13:26



Most of the incumbent mayors running in the municipal elections in Northern Saskatchewan yesterday have been re-elected to another term in office.


They include Max Morin in Ile-a-la-Crosse, Bobby Woods in Buffalo Narrows, Garry Morin in Sandy Bay, Horace Morin in Pelican Narrows, Paul Montgrand in Turnor Lake, Ernest Gardiner in Jans Bay and George Durocher in Dore Lake.


There are two northern communities with a new mayor today following yesterday’s vote. Sandy Rediron is back as mayor in Beauval after a 3-year absence. Rediron and Dorothy Alcrow actually finished tied with 124 votes, but Rediron won the tie-breaker. Incumbent Joe Daigneault finished 13 votes back.


And in Stony Rapids, Victor Robillard has defeated incumbent Georges T. Mercredi.


La Ronge and Air Ronge didn’t hold elections for mayor yesterday because both Joe Hordyski and Gordon Stomp are in by acclamation. The same can be said for Margaret Aubichon in Patuanak, Carl Hennie in Timber Bay and Bruce Fiddler in Creighton.