Pelican Narrows band members vote in by-election

Monday, November 17, 2003 at 13:44



Members of the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation residing in Pelican Narrows head to the polls today in a by-election.


8 people have been nominated for the position on band council. Fred Ballantyne, Ivan Halcrow, Darren Highway, Gilford Linklater, Mel Linklater, Kenny McCallum, Bill McKay and Tommy Sewap are on today’s ballot.


The polling station at the Pelican Narrows L.A.C. Hall is open until 8 o’clock this evening.


The position was left vacant by the sudden passing of councilor Angus Sewap back on August 13th.