Northerners Prominent At Circle Of Honour Awards

Thursday, June 09, 2005 at 16:17



The long-time speaker of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations’ legislative assemblies was named the Citizen of the Year at last night’s FSIN Circle of Honour Awards in North Battleford.


Fred Starblanket, from the Starblanket First Nation, has been serving in that role since 1991 and has also been invited to serve in a similar capacity for the Assembly of First Nations.


The Lifetime Achievement award was presented to former Lac La Ronge Indian Band chief Harry Cook, who stepped down from politics this year after leading the band since 1987.


Cook wasn’t the only northerner to receive recognition at the ceremony.


Montreal Lake elder Edna Henderson was presented an award in the “Honouring Our Mothers” category.


Buffalo River Dene Nation elder Annette Niultcho was honoured for being an advocate for the disabled.


Three English River First Nation members were handed awards for their involvement in sports. Former La Ronge Ice Wolf Trent Campbell received an award for being named the player of the year for his NCAA team this past season. 11-year-old Jaydon Campbell was singled out for being the youngest player to participate in the FSIN hockey championships this past winter, and excelling at that tournament. Meanwhile, longtime hockey coach Lawrence McIntyre was honoured for his volunteer work.


Other winners from the North include 16-year-old Birch Narrows band member Ernest Maurice in the Youth category.


As well, the La Ronge-based Missinipi Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) received the Media award.


A total of 32 Saskatchewan First Nations citizens and organizations received awards at last night’s ceremony.