North Represented At First Nations Awards Podium

Friday, November 04, 2005 at 15:39



Three residents of northern Saskatchewan were among the 13 winners announced at last night’s First Nations Awards in Regina.


Flying Dust chief Percy Derocher was given the life-time achievement award.


Lac La Ronge Indian Band health services director Mary Carlson won the health award, while former MBC Dene announcer Willie Billette of the Buffalo River Dene Nation claimed the media award.


Other winners included Keeseekoose’s Stella Ketemonia in the education category, Cowessess band member Leonard Young in the justice category, Ted Whitecalf of Sweetgrass for arts and entertainment and James Smith band member Rick Sanderson for community work and involvement.


In addition, awards were presented to Joelly Bigeagle of Whitebear in the science and technology category, Ariane Starblanket of the Starblanket reserve in the youth category, Kawacatoose band member Evelyn Buffalo-Robe in the Veterans category, Sakimay’s Sharon Acoose for social work, Rose Brass of the Key First Nation for sports and recreation, and the Cowessess Gas and Grocery Store in the business category.


About 700 people were on hand for last night’s ceremony


The awards are put on every year by the Women of the Dawn organization.