North Included In Major Shakeup Of Health Regions

Friday, February 06, 2009 at 15:39



Health Minister Don McMorris has announced the appointment of board members for Saskatchewan’s 12 regional health authorities — replacing 70 per cent of the previous board members.


Health regions in northern Saskatchewan were not immune to the sweeping changes.


The new board chair at Mamawetan Churchill River is La Ronge Mayor Joe Hordyski.


Sandy Bay Mayor Ina Fietz-Ray, Lac La Ronge Indian Band councillor Leon Charles, and Hatchet Lake Chief Rosalie Tsannie-Burseth are also new.


Returning members include Al Rivard, Josie Searson, Louise Wiens, and Ron Woytowich.


Meanwhile, La Loche mayor Georgina Jolibois is the new chair of Keewatin Yatthe.


Former Buffalo River Chief Elmer Campbell, Barbara Flett, Barry Opekokew, and Buffalo Narrows Mayor Bobby Woods are also new.


Returning members include Green Lake administrator Tina Rasmussen, English River band councillor Gloria Apesis, and Ile-a-la-Crosse Mayor Duane Favel.


The province says 25 of the 136 appointees are Aboriginal.


The list includes Waterhen Lake Chief Richard Fiddler in the Prairie North health region and Montreal Lake health director Shirley Henderson in the Prince Albert Parkland health region.


Board members are responsible for organizing, managing and delivering health services for all residents in their health regions.