Metis Elections Commission Members Turfed

Monday, March 20, 2006 at 14:38



The Metis Nation of Saskatchewan Senate has apparently removed three of its members that were in charge of overseeing the disputed 2004 MNS election.


According to a letter from MNS Senate chair Nora Cummings circulated to MNS leaders recently, Gilbert Pelletier, John Boucher and Joseph Perrault have been removed from office as of February 18th.


They were the senators that made up the Metis Elections Commission, which has been criticized for its handling of the vote itself and the subsequent appeals process.


In the letter, Cummings says the removals are designed to uphold the MNS Senate’s credibility.


She also says the moves have been made in accordance with the MNS Constitution — and new senators will be appointed at a later date to fill the vacancies.