Merasty Declared Winner By 73 Votes

Monday, January 30, 2006 at 13:19



Gary Merasty’s margin of victory is smaller than first announced — but Elections Canada is now officially recognizing him as the new Member of Parliament in Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River.


A process that saw election officials review tally sheets was completed over the weekend, and it validated the Liberal candidate’s claim to the northern Saskatchewan seat.


Merasty was initially declared the winner by 106 votes on election night. Elections Canada now says Merasty received 73 more votes than former MP Jeremy Harrison of the Conservatives.


Merasty now has 45 less votes than first reported, while Harrison has 12 less.


Harrison has made headlines with his allegations of voting irregularities on election night.


He says he will now ask a Court of Queen’s Bench justice to order a judicial recount.


Elections Canada officials note Harrison can also take his complaints about the election to the Comissioner of Canada Elections.