McCallum Re-elected Chief Of Peter Ballantyne Band

Wednesday, April 15, 2009 at 14:43



Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation’s incumbent chief will serve another two-year term in office.


Darrell McCallum has been re-elected chief, beating out challengers Harold Linklater and Randy Clarke in yesterday’s band election.


Unofficials results have McCallum beating Linklater by 182 votes and besting Clarke by more than 600.


Councillors elected in Pelican Narrows are incumbents Darwin Morin and Arthur Dorion, and newcomers Ovide Michel, Wesley Custer, and Melville Linklater.


Sandy Bay elected two new councillors, Joanne Ray and Harvey Nateweyes, while Deschambault Lake re-elected Peter A. Beatty and added a new councillor, Steven Custer, Sr.


Southend’s councillors are incumbent Darrin Morin and new councillor Victor Jobb.


Denare Beach and Sturgeon Landing re-elected their councillors, Clayton Sewap and Gertie Budd, while George Michel is the Prince Albert urban councillor.


Because the band is one of the largest in the province, voting was held in seven different communities.