Finalists Announced for First Nations Awards

Wednesday, October 29, 2003 at 13:24



The First Nations group known as Women of the Dawn has released the finalists for the upcoming First Nations Awards.


Every year, First Nations citizens from Saskatchewan are honoured at a ceremony for their achievements in various fields.


A number of northerners are among this year’s finalists.


They include MBC CEO Deborah Charles of the Lac La Ronge Indian Band, who is a finalist in the Business category.


There are actually a number of finalists from the Lac La Ronge Indian Band. RCMP Inspector Russ Mirasty is one of only two people to be named a finalist in 2 categories — Justice and Community Work. CBC radio host Tom Roberts is another La Ronge band member that’s up for an award — he’s been nominated in the Journalism category. Meantime, fellow band member Kevin Theriault is a finalist in the Science and Technology category.


Other northerners that have been chosen as finalists for the First Nations Awards include long-time evangelist and pastor Frank Mirasty of the Flying Dust reserve, who’s been nominated in the Lifetime Achievement category. Also nominated for an award is Ray Mitsuing of the Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation in the Sports and Recreation category, Waterhen Lake’s Chad Morin in the Arts and Entertainment category, Charlotte Bella Ross of Montreal Lake in the Education category, Buffalo River’s Roderick Billette in the Business category, Kelly Morin of the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation in the Youth category and Sarah Ninnie of Cumberland House, who’s a finalist in the Community Work category.


This year’s ceremony takes place November 6th in Regina.