Long-time Green Lake Mayor Loses Election

Thursday, September 25, 2003 at 16:49




It appears Fred McCallum’s time as mayor in Green Lake has come to an end.


In an extremely close municipal election held in the community yesterday, McCallum was defeated by Rae Leibel by one vote — 102 to 101.


Several recounts were conducted, but all produced the same numbers.


There were also two spoiled ballots.


McCallum has not been available for comment and it’s not clear if the result will be challenged.


He’s been the mayor in Green Lake since 1994.


There were several other municipal elections held in Northern Saskatchewan yesterday.


St. George’s Hill has a new mayor. Amil Desjarlais defeated incumbent Tom Bekkatla.


Meantime, Philip Montgrand is the new chair in Bear Creek — he replaces Dean Herman.


Uranium City also has a new chair — he’s Dean Classen and he takes over from former chair Jim Pfaffenroth, who decided not to run.


In Descharme Lake, John Sylvestre is back for another term as settlement committee chair, as is Claire Larocque in Camsell Portage. Carl Lentowicz is in by acclamation in Denare Beach.


The next round of municipal elections in Northern Saskatchewan will take place next Wednesday. Some of the communities that will conduct voting on that day include Cumberland House, La Loche, Michel Village and Weyakwin.