La Loche Residents Elect New Mayor

Thursday, October 02, 2003 at 15:29




There’s a new mayor in La Loche.


Georgina Jolibois beat out seven other candidates in yesterday’s election, including incumbent JJ Janvier.


Jolibois finished with 296 votes, 28 more than her next closest competitor Ida Lemaigre. Janvier finished 5th in voting with 104 votes. Activist Skip Montgrand also ran for mayor in La Loche — he finished dead last with a total of 7 votes.


In Cumberland House, incumbent mayor Dale McAuley is back for another term. He was up against 3 challengers, but ended up capturing more than double the votes received by his closest competition. In fact, McAuley captured more votes than the other 3 challengers combined.


Meantime, Ernest Sylvestre is back as mayor in Michel Village after a 3-year absence. Sylvestre lost the 2000 election by just one vote to Cliff Coombs, who decided not to run this time around. Sylvestre defeated two other candidates in yesterday’s vote.


There’s a new face in the mayor’s office in Weyakwin, as well. Former councillor Della Brown is the new mayor. She takes over from incumbent Rene Natomagan, who was seeking re-election.


And in the northern settlement of Wollaston Lake, Terri Daniels was re-elected yesterday as the chair of the local advisory committee.