Caisse Re-elected Mayor of Pinehouse

Thursday, September 18, 2003 at 14:23




The results are in from the first round of municipal elections in Northern Saskatchewan.


Cecile Caisse is still the mayor of Pinehouse.


The incumbent had 3 challengers heading into yesterday’s election.


Caisse finished with 193 votes, several dozen votes ahead of her closest competitor, Mike Natomagan. Philip Tinker finished 3rd in voting for mayor, while Dale Smith was 4th.


Meantime, the new council in Pinehouse includes Saskatchewan Party Athabasca nominee Greg Ross, Laura Boyd, Ida Smith and Rosalina Smith.


There were 4 other municipal elections held in the North yesterday.


Harold Aubichon has been voted in as the mayor in Cole Bay. Aubichon beat out Kevin Bouvier and Roseann Daigneault, and had more than twice the votes received by his closest competitor. Aubichon has been serving as the interim mayor in Cole Bay for most of the year, but the council in the northern hamlet is made up of new faces. Newcomers Fernand Bouvier, Joe Coullineur, Freda Desjarlais and Liz Coullineur were voted onto Cole Bay’s council.


In Brabant Lake, William McKenzie is the new chair of the northern settlement. He takes over from former chair Eugene McLeod, who didn’t run. The comittee members in Brabant Lake are Charles McKenzie, Peter McKenzie, Sharon Cook and Sarah Charles. Both Charles and Cook are newcomers to the settlement committee.


In Garson Lake, Donald Laprise is the new chair, replacing Victoria Janvier, who didn’t run this time around. The settlement committee is made up of incumbents Dora Laprise and Casey Laprise and newcomers Jason Herman and Danny Piche.


Meantime, in Black Point, incumbent chair Frank Petit was re-elected yesterday. He’s joined on the committee by newcomers Archie Toulejour and Rene Guetre.


Eight more northern municipalities will head to the polls next week, including Green Lake and St. George’s Hill.